not on facebook
ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED 2017)... HERE

Part Time Postman - should I be paid full time holiday etc ?

19 Feb 2017, 10:48

I'm looking for advice from anyone experiencing the same as me with regards to being part time.

I'm a Postman on a 27 hour contract. I've been working over 45 hours a week now for two years.

There isn't a chance of being made full time as people have been part time at my depot for over 10 years and contracts are given on seniority.

My frustration is that I only get my contracted 27 hours pay when on leave despite working more than the full time 39 hours.

I am presuming that I am also only accruing 70% towards my pension as well as not receiving full bonus and share entitlements.

Is there an example of being paid full time holidays even though I'm officially only part time?

Any help or advice of where to turn would be great!

19 Feb 2017, 11:02

Simple answer: All overtime we do is voluntary. So RM are not obligated to pay.

Your pension contributions/delivery supplement are paid up to 39 hours like any FTer.

If you're consistently working over FT in your office get the rep to challenge it, your office needs to be resourced better. After every 6 months your hours are supposed to be reviewed with a view to making you up anyway, in theory.

19 Feb 2017, 11:41