ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (Updated 2021)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE NOT ON FACEBOOK AT ALL!

The work is so boring

An 'unofficial' forum for those who either work for Royal Mail or are looking to work for Royal Mail through the Angard Staffing Agency.This is an open forum.
TobysPaw

The work is so boring

Post by TobysPaw »

Hi everyone, first post - trigger warning lol, this post may annoy some people, so apologies in advance.

I've recently started doing some parcel sorter shifts for Angard, (I've probably done 8-10 shifts in total) it's not my main job, just fancied something a bit different and of course nobody would say no to making extra cash.

My problem is I just find it so utterly boring, even the 3.5 or 4 hour shifts seem to drag on forever, let alone the longer ones. It's not like I'm lazy, I've been working for 20 years in various roles and while some of those were on occasion a bit dull, they were always manageable, but this is something beyond it just being dull. I've tried listening to music/audiobooks while on shift which helps a bit but not very much.

I just wondered what other people's thoughts are. Do you eventually get into a rhythm and the time passes quicker?

For anyone reading this thinking 'I should consider myself lucky to get shifts at all' - I can totally accept that. Curious to get other viewpoints on this. Thanks

seesred
EX ROYAL MAIL

Re: The work is so boring

Post by seesred »

It is boring. There's not much else to say about it. But it is less boring than some jobs I've had, it's not difficult, it's physically active and it's not staring at a screen all day. Even so, I start counting down the time from the second I start until I finish, and it's a challenge to see how long I can go without checking the clock. Three-and-a-half hours is long enough for me, and I wonder what happens to the brains of people who spend longer at the job than that.
pleb