not on facebook
ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED 2017)... HERE

Tax Codes when taking NRA 60 & Still working...

10 Oct 2019, 15:23

Does anybody know how it works for tax codes when you take one of your pensions but continue to work.

Do you get a different tax code for your pension ?

Does your current tax code change?

Is there anything you actually need to do ?

Many thanks in advance for any help....

10 Oct 2019, 17:30

I have no personal experience of this and I'm sure someone will come along and correct me if I'm wrong. But you will normally have your main income, which will be your RM employment, to which the personal tax allowance of £12,500(plus uniform cleaning allowance) will be applied, exactly as now.

Your second income from you pension will be given a BR tax code, which means all of it will be taxed at 20%. There's no NIC's to pay on pension income.

There shouldn't really be anything you have to do, other than to keep an eye on the figures to make sure they're correct.

There's lots of info on this online, which will go into more detail!

10 Oct 2019, 18:38

Thanks Robert....again..

11 Oct 2019, 08:24

Hawkey99 wrote:Does anybody know how it works for tax codes when you take one of your pensions but continue to work.

Do you get a different tax code for your pension ?

Does your current tax code change?

Is there anything you actually need to do ?

Many thanks in advance for any help....

Just to add what Robert has stated:

I did take all of my various pensions @ 60 (both RM pensions and another deferred occupational pension from previous employment) but continued to work for RM for a month or two after my 60th.