not on facebook
ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED 2017)... HERE

MGV/LGV career path

01 Jul 2019, 23:47

Looking for some advice. I've been with royal mail for 4 years now on delivery. I wanted to open my options within royal mail, so I started training for my CAT C license, with I have passed. A position came up on successfactors for an MGV role, I applied and got an interview/assessment. I didn't get the position, as I would require more training to be at royal mail's standard, so I was told. I cant get experience as I am a fulltime employee with a rotating rest day. So I wouldn't be able to get an unbroken 45hr rest week in. My manager is unwilling to give me every other Saturday off to help me with the driver hours, which I can understand. What I want to know is has anyone ever got a MGV/LGV position without experience? Cause to me it's looking like I will need to leave royal mail to get the experience, and this is not what I want. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

MGV/LGV career paths

04 Jul 2019, 00:16

Work for an agency on your day off, you can reduce hours to 24 hours every other week.

MGV/LGV career path

04 Jul 2019, 04:57

If you have completed your cpc and have a driver card contact your local distribution manger and ask for the adc to do a change over so your can do overtime on your day off. Once you have that just start doing overtime to gain experience that’s what I did

MGV/LGV career path

04 Jul 2019, 08:27

Jamie162 wrote:If you have completed your cpc and have a driver card contact your local distribution manger and ask for the adc to do a change over so your can do overtime on your day off. Once you have that just start doing overtime to gain experience that’s what I did