not on facebook
ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED 2017)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : NEW CORONAVIRUS FORUM... HERE

New Start, on long term loan?

07 Mar 2020, 13:42

Hello all,

I started in December before Xmas (30h/pw contact), in Office A. I spent 3 weeks shadowing other posties, then was asked to help cover Office B after Xmas. I have been driving to office B now for over 2 months (getting mileage paid), which is 30-40 mins drive due to traffic and roadworks, each way. I have been doing this commute in my own time, in my private vehicle. I didn't mind helping out at first with driving as office B is short staffed and it saved office B sending someone to pick me up.

However, I am now over 3 months in, haven't spoke to my Work coach since in Office B, training log isn't filled out, i'm not diesel trained yet, and not sure who my rep in Office A is. (I know very little about the union, we didn't have a visit at our induction, but i am a member thanks to Office B rep advice).

Anyway my problem that i would like some advice on is this; I have asked to report to Office A in the mornings so i can meet my work coach, speak to my CWU rep about whats going on with these strike letters that RM have been sending us ect. However, I was told by my Office A Manager, that he will send my training logs to B, and i should talk to office B rep, and because I am on long term loan (first time this was mentioned to me), I have to report to Office B at my start time. Also I will be transferred there permanently when i Hit 6 months. I will not be entitled to Mileage, even though I live 2 mins from Office A. This all came up as one of the Office A colleagues thought i had quit as he hadn't seen me and they should be rotating people who travel. (he delivered my post on my rdo)

My Questions are this:

Can they move me permanently to another office from the one i was hired at without my consent?