not on facebook
ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED APR 2019)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : NEW CORONAVIRUS FORUM... HERE

Managers Holding Postie Duties

07 Jun 2007, 10:35

Hi

When RM wants managers to be managers they are managers.
When they have too many managers the extra managers are reduced to being posties.

I know of at least one manager who is the designated holder of a delivery duty which prevents anyone else from holding the duty.

I have been covering this duty for over 6 months.

Union reps don't seem to have a problem with this issue, they seem to think that this is OK because the managers are trainees.

Surely a manager is a manager and NOT a postie

Please advise

07 Jun 2007, 11:13

Do you mean an 'Acting Manager'
I had this down my old DO,one guy was in the resigns and everything but was never there as he was always out acting.
Nothing you can do as they are out 'Acting' (Acting like c***s if you ask me :wink: ) and can still hold their dutys.

07 Jun 2007, 11:15

Rocky a reformed manager (bless his cotton socks) should be able to answer this and he will give it to you straight if he can.

07 Jun 2007, 14:28

I dont have a problem with acting managers holding their duty as every senior cwu rep also holds a duty somewhere. Very few reps are actually paid by the cwu, they are duty holders who gain release from duties.

I do have a problem with an acting manager working overtime as a postie, then working duty as a manager. Now that should stop!

07 Jun 2007, 14:58

as an acting manager you hold your job/position at all times and repick when needed with everyone else