not on facebook
ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED 2017)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : NEW CORONAVIRUS FORUM... HERE

Using car to get to delivery

03 Jul 2020, 14:46

What do the guys that do this get for it? Do You claim an amount per mile? If You have to use a car park is Your ticket paid for by RM? Just wondering and not out to flame anyone for doing it

03 Jul 2020, 17:45

I've been using mine for a couple of months now. Purely to get to the loops and NOT to carry any mail/parcels. I've been paid 45p per mile. Not parked in any car parks, so no idea about ticket reimbursement!

03 Jul 2020, 17:49

Why would anyone want to use there own personal car after Royal mail banned them years ago ????

Now there going to let people do it for a few months to suit themselves.
And your only insured third party.

Get a grip tell them to poke it

03 Jul 2020, 19:20

Even just going to the start of the first loop, you're probably going to need business use on your insurance. I believe a lot of insurance companies class commuting as to your usual place of work

03 Jul 2020, 20:07

SpacePhoenix wrote:Even just going to the start of the first loop, you're probably going to need business use on your insurance. I believe a lot of insurance companies class commuting as to your usual place of work

Funnily enough, I've not heard of any manager ensuring people have the correct insurance

07 Jul 2020, 23:07

Business insurance is included for no extra with direct line and churchill.
45p per mile is the rate. When I've had to use a public car park when going to another DO, the cost has been reimbursed, so assume it would be the same for parking for delivery from your own DO.

11 Jul 2020, 19:58

the lad i work with uses his car from the 1st day all this kicked in....

45p a mile yeah

we do about 8 mile a day of stop start 6 loops

i worked it out he has to drive over 42 speed bumps a day 5 days a week