ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (Updated 2021)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE NOT ON FACEBOOK AT ALL!

How long would RM hold a job?

Forum for info, hints and tips about working for us through Royal Mail not Angard.This is an open forum.
CallumWatCo

How long would RM hold a job?

Post by CallumWatCo »

Good evening,

I have wanted to be a postie for a few years now and was gutted (but pleased for him) when someone I work with in a school left to be a postman. His application to first day took just a couple of weeks or so. This would be a problem for me as I'm currently a teacher. I need to give approximately two months notice before I can leave my job. For example, if I hand in my notice by October half term, I can't leave before mid/end of December.

I obviously can't just quit and hope a position somewhat near me comes up. If a position were to appear, and I applied and was successful... What's the longest they'd likely hold the position for me?

I have tried in vain to find a way to contact them to find out but to no avail.

Any suggestions, insights, anything?

Thanks,

C

TopperGas

Re: How long would RM hold a job?

Post by TopperGas »

You'd be mad to give up a teachers job to become a postman?
CallumWatCo

Post by CallumWatCo »

TopperGas wrote:
09 Jan 2024, 21:50
That sounds like someone who hasn't done a teaching job!

I have my teaching qualification and with almost a decade of experience, including as a member of the senior leadership team, I know I'd be able to find a teaching job again if I hated being a postie... But teaching is all consuming. I spend all of my time either working or thinking about work still to do and I rarely have time to breathe during the school day.

Just looking for a change.
ted_e_bear

Post by ted_e_bear »

CallumWatCo wrote:
09 Jan 2024, 22:08
TopperGas wrote: