ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (Updated 2021)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE NOT ON FACEBOOK AT ALL!

Joining RM on a 6 month temp contract or staying at my current job?

Forum for info, hints and tips about working for us through Royal Mail not Angard.This is an open forum.
ronaldinho0097

Joining RM on a 6 month temp contract or staying at my current job?

Post by ronaldinho0097 »

Hi all.
Listen I've wanted to be a postie ever since leaving school. I think the work appeals to me greatly and I reckon I'll fit in like a glove.

I have been offered a 20hr part time contract on a temp 6 month basis at my local DO. I was told in the interview that I'd most likely be working 30hrs a week due to the demands of the business.

It's all sounding great however the temporary contract really does concern me.
I'm currently a delivery driver for tesco and I do enjoy the work and the environment, most of all I've got job security and don't have to worry if I'll be kept on or not.

My question is, just how realistic is it for RM to keep me on as a postie after the 6 months?
I would hate myself if I left this job and went in to RM only to be kicked out 6 months later despite my best efforts.

What would you do having worked for RM? Any advice is appreciated

TrueBlueTerrier
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR

Re: Joining RM on a 6 month temp contract or staying at my current job?

Post by TrueBlueTerrier »

You are best probably asking a local postie to see how quick the turnover of staff is at that office.

At mine, the new starters have been quitting so much that they offer a temp/casual contract at first, then after renewing it every 6 or 3 months eventually they set the ones who stay the course on a permanent contract.

It may be the same for your new office, but it also may not that's why I suggest getting a local picture.