ANNOUNCEMENT : ALL OF ROYAL MAIL'S EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (Updated 2021)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE NOT ON FACEBOOK AT ALL!

Hi Folks

Introduce yourself to the RMC community.Introductions only please, use the other forums for your query if you have one. This is an open forum.
Smithy1973!

Hi Folks

Post by Smithy1973! »

Hi Everyone :wave
Just thought I’d pop on and say hello.

I start tomorrow as a Postie.
Induction online and in DO from Tuesday - these threads have been super useful so thanks for that!

On first day in DO any tips what to take with me? Like rucksack 🎒 with rainproof in it? Phone? Pen?
Apologies if seen as daft question but total novice here

Thanks all!!

SMS1969

Re: Hi Folks

Post by SMS1969 »

Hi

I take to work three pens, in case any stop working when you are out. A rucksack with waterproofs, food and water- you can dehydrate in this job fairly quickly. Make sure you know where the toilet stops are on your route. Have an adequate supply of 739 cards, you fill these in if the person is out that you are delivering a parcel/packet to.
On the first day in the DO you might be watching Health & safety videos and other mind numbing stuff- keep the coffee supplies to hand!
Good luck.
Smithy1973!

Post by Smithy1973! »

Really appreciate that!!

Thanks so much! :thumbup
fb1969
EX ROYAL MAIL

Post by fb1969 »

Don't wear jeans - if you have loose fitting trousers or knee length shorts, with a few pockets, then you'll be better wearing them. Comfortable shoes. Phone is up to you, its handy to contact a colleague but don't let RM think it is for their use!
Royal Mail
failing the workforce, failing the public and deliberately failing mail on a daily basis for too many years.
Smithy1973!

Post by Smithy1973! »

Much appreciated :thumbup
Adison

Post by Adison »

Hey!!!

Welcome, I always have a bag.. initially mine was basically a survival kit 🤣