ANNOUNCEMENT : ROYAL MAIL EMPLOYMENT POLICIES (AGREEMENTS) AT A GLANCE (UPDATED 2016)... HERE

ANNOUNCEMENT : INFORMATION ON SEVERE WEATHER THREADS... HERE

New van Share Partner Concerns Advice Plz.

05 Jan 2017, 15:51

I am a non driver & will shortly have a new van share partner.
I need some advice please.
My new partner has only passed his driving test within the last two years, he has so far written off two of his own cars in RTA (road traffic accidents separate incidents) and has had two RTAs separate incidents with Royal Mail vans one was swept under the carpet has it was only a very bad scrape, the other incident he was taken off of driving until he re-took the Royal Mail driving test again. Big cheers & laughs in the office, believe it or not. :crazy:
He has been previously working alone in a van, and has recently signed in to the vacant walk linked to mine. My worry is I am concerned about his ability to drive after 4 incidents within a short space of time.
I have told my DOM I do not wish to work with him as I feel he is unsuitable, but have not relayed the real reason why.
Can I be forced to work with him? Can I refuse to work with him on these grounds, I am concerned about my own health & safety has his track record leaves a lot to be desired. :pray :pray
Any sound advice would be most grateful.

05 Jan 2017, 16:24

My feeling would be if Royal Mail are happy for him to be a driver and he has legitimately applied for and got the duty your only option,if you really don't want to work with him, would be to come off your own duty and go back to being reserve until you got a chance to sign for another duty.

05 Jan 2017, 17:22